The Youth Activism Project is currently 100% volunteer-run.

Please contact us if you want to explore contributing your talents pro bono!

Wendy Schaetzel Lesko

Wendy Schaetzel Lesko serves as President and she is a nationally recognized expert on authentic youth civic engagement. She has written several books, including Youth! The 26% Solution. Her work as a community organizer with Cesar Chavez’s United Farm Workers and a reporter covering the U.S. Congress strengthens her determination to encourage adults to truly value the solutions advocated by young people.

Anika Manzoor

Anika Manzoor is Co-President and oversees the expansion of our support for international youth-led campaigns. At age 12, she co-founded School Girls Unite and later served as chief editor of our action guide, “Girls Gone Activist! How Education Can Change the World.” Anika was a Fulbright Grantee in Malaysia and is currently a graduate student at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Joanne Conelley

Joanne Conelley serves as Chair of our Board of Directors. She is a co-founder of School Girls Unite and her pragmatic yet visionary contributions are enhanced by her uninterrupted engagement with the Youth Activism Project for over a decade.

Molara Obe

Molara Obe is Director of Digital Media and donating her many IT talents, especially during this transformative stage of the Youth Activism Project.

Co-Founders and Board of Directors

Other Co-Founders and Board Members include Dandio Coulibaly, Milagros de Souza, Fata Karva, Mira Fleming and Jocelyn Sapulene Matenje.